Chat User Guide

Basic structure

After you have logged in to the application you will see the main screen of the chat:

Left part

On the left side you will find the list of private and group chats you participate in and the list of registered users (you can switch between the lists via the corresponding controls above). Here you can create new chat rooms, search through the already existing chats or other users and start messaging.

Right part

The right screen displays the chat room being currently viewed whether it is a private or group one. Here you can perform all the basic operations with messages (sending, editing, deleting), read messages from other users, see the chat info as well as add new members to a room or leave a certain chat.

Read further to grasp the main functionality of Chat.

Creating group chat

How to create new chat room:

1) Go the the Chats list and click the "+ New chat" button;
2) Provide a name and image for the chat and click the "People →" button;
3) From the list choose people you want to invite to this chat;
4) Click Save to create new chat.

Creating private chat

To start private messaging with a user take the following steps:

1) Go the the Users list and select the user you want to chat with;
2) Send him/her a message to start a chat.

Later you can invite new people to this room.

Operations with messages

Sending

How to send a message:

1) Go the the desired group or private chat;
2) In the text area write your message and click the Send button.

Editing

To edit an already existing message:

1) Click the 3 dots icon next to the time the message was sent at;
2) Choose the Edit option from the menu;
3) Write your new message and click Send.

Removing

To remove a message you should:

1) Click the 3 dots icon next to the time the message was sent at;
2) Choose the Remove option from the menu;
3) In the dialog click the OK button.

See the example below:

Searching for chats and users

To search for a certain room go to the Chats list and start typing the text in the search field. If you want to find a user - go to the Users list and use the search bar there.

You can enter any chat from the search results by clicking on it.

Leaving chats

How to leave a certain chat room:

1) Go to the chat you want to leave;
2) On the top panel click the menu (3 dots icon) and choose the Chat info option;
3) In the window click Leave chat.

You can also get to the Chat info by clicking on the chat name on the top panel.

Adding new members to chat

You can invite new people to an existing chat. To do it take the following steps:

1) Go to the chat you want to invite people to;
2) In the window click Add members;
3) In the list of users check those you want to invite to this chat;
4) Click the Save button.

Alternatively, if you have the Chat info window opened, you can click the "Add members" button there to show users list.

Note that you can also uncheck users. In this case they will be deleted from the chat room.

Removing members from chat

To remove member(s) from a specific chat room take the following steps:

1) Go to the chat you want to remove members from;
2) On the top panel click the menu (3 dots icon) and choose the Chat info option;
3) In the window click the X icon opposite to the name of the user you want to remove;
4) Click Delete in the popup.

You can also click the name of the chat to open Chat info.

Editing chat info

You can rename a chat room or provide a new image for this room.

How to do that:

1) Go to the chat you want to edit;
2) Click on the 3 dots icon on the top panel and choose the Chat info option;
3) In the window click the pencil icon in the right top corner;
4) Type in a new name in the text field or upload new image for this chat by clicking on the image above;
5) Click Save when all the necessary changes are done.

You can also click the name of the chat to open Chat info.

Back to top